Ready, Set, Seed!

How to Start From Seed

For me, one of the most simple decisions I made when I started gardening was to start plants from seed whenever I could. Why?

  • It saves so much money.
  • There is much more variety in seed choices than there are pre-grown seedlings at your local nursery.
  • It’s magical to watch those babies sprout into beautiful plants that you one day get to munch, crunch and gobble.
  • Just look at how pretty these sweet basil seedlings  are.

So say you, “how the heck do I make a seed into a plant?” It might not be as simple as ‘Jack and the Beanstalk’ might have you believe- but it’s still relatively easy.

Purple Opal Basil

IMG_1510

 First I gathered together some seed starting mix and a tray. I re-used an old seedling tray.

When you do this, be sure to scrub the tray clean with soap and hot water to ensure that you do not spread any nasty plant diseases.

Next I lined my tray with newspaper (totally optional)

My packet instructions called for seeds sown:

1 inch apart and 1/4 inch deep

IMG_1517

So I made small holes according to the instructions.

IMG_1516

I poured some of the seeds out of the packet- I like to use a white ramekin because then I can see all those teeny-tiny seeds.

IMG_1518

I placed one seed into each hole.

IMG_1527

I then covered my seeds lightly and wet my seed tray thoroughly.

These two steps were points of contention for me, as I’m fairly certain I upset the seed starting mix and moved those seeds around a little.

Next time perhaps I should water the seed starting mix first?

 I’m hoping that this wont mess up the germination of these purple basil beauties.

IMG_1526

I placed the top over the tray, which allows for the environment to be controlled as the seeds germinate.

I can’t wait to update you on how these babies go. The packet instructions say that germination will take place in 7 to 14 days.

 Are there any seeds that you have started lately? If so feel free to comment and leave a link to any posts you have about seed starting.

Happy Gardening!

4 thoughts on “Ready, Set, Seed!

  1. I’ve just started growing from seed myself! So many more options! I’ve even started trading with people across the country, which is really addictive. I think your basil will be just fine, though I do water the soil before seeding so they’re not as likely to move around. Here’s a post I wrote about my germination experience. I look forward to seeing how your little guys do! ~ sheri http://unfetteredfox.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/diy-germination-station/

    • Hi Sheri! I’ve been really interested in trading seeds and seed saving- I am planning to try it out next growing season, once I’ve got the basics down a bit more. My basil is doing very well- just sprouted- I will have a post up about it soon. I love the ‘germination station’ by the way! Very clever.

      • Thank you! I was pretty proud of myself for building that. The fact that it worked was a nice bonus! Trading seeds is really fun, hugely addictive. If you’re on facebook, check out the Great American Seed Swap Project – so many nice people. If you’re looking for anything in particular let me know, I’ve got seeds to spare 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sprouts & Seedlings & Companion Planting | Garden Geek

Go on... feel free to voice your opinion

