Semi-permanent, Semi-raised Vegetable Beds- a seriously easy DIY project

Are you a renter?

One of the challenges of renting is that you can’t make huge changes to your garden.

Reasons:

  1. Your landlord probably doesn’t want his front lawn turned into a tropical landscape complete with banana trees.
  2. You don’t know how long you’ll be renting your property- 1 year or 5 years- a huge investment in landscaping is just not worth it.
  3. You don’t know how to grow banana trees.

The good news is there are so many shortcuts to making your garden more horticulturally friendly whilst still respecting your rented property.

One of my projects in my Concrete Backyard was the construction of slightly raised vegetable beds. This is a project I  am super proud of. They are certainly not sleek nor  are they professional-looking- but that’s part of the fun! They are completely temporary, probably taking about two days of work to return the garden bed to how I found it (with significantly amended soil, might I add).

Today I want to show you how I achieved my slightly raised vegetable beds:

Step One

Have a a garden bed- of some sort. I kid you not, this helps immensely. Building your own raised beds over lawn, or other challenging scenarios  like that, are worthy of their own posts. But if you have some sad, neglected garden beds lying around, this project is for you.

 IMG_0945

 

Step Two

Prep your materials. All I used was:

Garden Edging- bought from a Big Box Store, I painted mine white

IMG_1583

A trowel,

IMG_1586

Soil- which, is hopefully already there, and

Compost or other amendments, as a little added bonus

Step three

Dig yourself a shallow trench, a little larger than the garden edging.

IMG_1592

 

Step Four

Place afore-mentioned garden edging into trench. Use soil to secure garden edging in place.

IMG_1596

And Viola

This was the last of my “semi-permanent-semi-raised” beds.

And here is my ‘Before and After’ 

IMG_1577                          IMG_1604

All I have left to do is amend the soil in the area of the vegetable bed that I just created. The other side of the bed, (where there are already flowers planted) has already been double-dug and amended with manure and compost. This end of my skinny concrete backyard is aimed at attracting butterflies and other pollinators. I am also nursing a baby blueberry bush back to life here- but that is another post for another day.

So that’s it. If you’ve been staring at an uninspiring patch of soil in your garden, here’s your chance to change that. Let me know how you go.

Happy Gardening!

Go on... feel free to voice your opinion

